In May, Coalition Z traveled to Albany to participate in Voter Advocacy Day and lobby lawmakers to support key voting rights legislation that makes voting more accessible to a broader and more diverse group of constituents. Thanks to all of your hard work, we were able to generate momentum and get a ton of new sponsors to sign on to the four bills we lobbied for!

In order to build on our day of advocacy, it is imperative that we follow up with legislators and reinforce our commitment to the following four bills:

  1. The Voter Empowerment Act (A2278, S3304)

  2. Early Voting (A2064, S2950)

  3. The New York Votes Act (A5312)

  4. Preclearance (A5925)

For a description of the four bills for which we are advocating, see this document: https://dalton.myschoolapp.com/ftpimages/98/download/download_2320627.pdf. 

Calling, emailing and tweeting our elected officials in support of these bills will encourage them to vote in favor of enacting important new provisions. Below you will find a suggested script to follow when making contact. 

  1. Call

    1. “Hi Senator/Assemblyman/Assemblywoman______. I am affiliated with a student organization called Coalition Z that met with your office earlier this month as part of VoteBetterNY’s advocacy day for better voting laws.

    2. We are reiterating our support of:

1. The Voter Empowerment Act (A2278, S3304)

2. Early Voting (A2064, S2950)

3. The New York Votes Act (A5312)

4. Preclearance (A5925)

     c.  These important pieces of legislation will serve to empower all of your constituents, and in particular, will better enable traditionally disenfranchised groups of voters to engage in our democracy.

     d.  We urge you to sponsor these critical pending bills that will facilitate access to the polls for a broader and more diverse voting public.

2. Email

Hello [legislator’s name] 

I am affiliated with a student organization called Coalition Z that met with your office earlier this month as part of VoteBetterNY’s advocacy day for better voting laws. During those meetings, our group explained our support for the following pieces of pending legislation:

1. The Voter Empowerment Act (A2278, S3304)

2. Early Voting (A2064, S2950)

3.The New York Votes Act (A5312)

4. Preclearance (A5925)

New York State, a state that in so many ways is a progressive trailblazer, sits at an abysmal 46th in voter turnout among all 50 states. Indeed, over 2 million New Yorkers eligible to vote are currently left off of poll books because of punitive and restrictive voting laws. All four pieces of pending legislation listed above would serve to empower these disenfranchised groups of voters and allow them to engage in our democracy.  As a result, we urge you to sponsor these bills.

Thank you,

[Your name]

 3. Tweet

@[legislator’s Twitter handle] Please support The Voter Empowerment Act, Early Voting, The New York Votes Act, and Preclearance to protect our democracy!  

[tag @Coalition_Z and @NYCVotes]

 Here is a list of the legislators we suggest you contact:

Assemblymembers:

1. Vivian Cook, 518-455-4203, CookV@nyassembly.gov

2. Maritza Davila, 518-455-5537, DavilaM@nyassmebly.gov, @Davila Assembly

3. Richard Gottfried, 518-455-4941, GottfriedR@nyassembly.gov, @DickGottfried

4. Pamela Harris, 518-455-4811, HarrisP@nyassembly.gov, @harris4assembly

5. Latoya Joyner, 518-455-5671, JoynerL@nyasssmebly.gov, @JoinJoyner

6. Ron Kim, 518-455-5411, KimR@nyassembly.gov, @RonKim40

7. Joseph Lentol, 518-455-4477, LentolJ@nyassembly.gov, @assemblymanJoe

8. Nick Perry, 518-455-4166, PerryN@nyassembly.gov

9. Fred Thiele, 518-455-5997, ThieleF@nyassembly.gov,

10. Latrice Walker, 518-455-4466, WalkerL@nyassembly.gov, @AssemblyLWalker

 

Senators:

1. Simcha Felder, 518-455-2754, felder@nysenate.gov, @NYSenatorFelder

2. Brad Hoylman, 518-455-2451, hoylman@nysenate.gov, @bradhoylman

3. Liz Krueger, 518-455-2297, liz@lizkrueger.com, @LizKrueger

4. Andrew Lanza, 518-455-3215, lanza@nysenate.gov, @senatorlanza

5. Martin Malave Dilan, 518-455-2177, dilan@nysenate.gov, @SenatorDilan

6. Gustavo Rivera, 518-455-3395, grivera@nysenate.gov, @NYSenatorRivera

 

Let’s reinforce the impact of our trip to Albany and remind our legislators that our voices must not be dismissed. We can make a difference! Call, email or tweet today!

Comment